Wednesday, 25 May 2016

Positivity Pumping at the NZ Dairy Industry Awards


The winners and finalists in the 2016 New Zealand Dairy Industry Awards are evidence of the opportunities for people to prosper in the country’s dairy industry.

2016 New Zealand Share Farmers of the Year

Mark and Jaime Arnold, took a huge pay cut when they launched their dairy farming career eight years ago.

The former logging crew manager and teacher moved to a single herd manager’s salary when they stepped onto a dairy farm for the first time. The Arnolds are 50% sharemilking 500 cows for Mike and Sherynn Harold, and Stuart and Sandra Cordell at Dannevirke. It is their fifth season on the farm.

The couple demonstrated strengths in finance, business, and pasture management - also taking away the Ravensdown Pasture Performance Award.

2016 New Zealand Dairy Manager of the Year

Judges are confident that Thomas Chatfield, will go a long way in the industry.

The 30-year-old former physiotherapist is managing a 500-cow Whakatane farm owned by Bruce and Judy Woods. In 2013 he won the Bay of Plenty Dairy Trainee of the Year title during his first season in the dairy industry.

2016 New Zealand Dairy Trainee of the Year

21 year old Nicholas Bailey is able to articulate ideas on some of the issues facing the industry.

Nicholas is 2IC on Bryan Tucker’s 330ha Greytown farm milking 950 cows. It is the second time he has entered the awards and he plans to progress to a managing role.

Visit for more information on the awards, and full list of winners.

2016 New Zealand Share Farmer of the Year
: Mark & Jaime Arnold, Hawkes Bay/Wairarapa ⋅ Runner-up: Michael & Susie Woodward, Canterbury ⋅ Third: Callum & Hanna Stalker, Southland/Otago ⋅ Ravensdown Pasture Performance Award: Mark & Jaime Arnold

2016 New Zealand Dairy Manager of the Year
Winner: Thomas Chatfield, Bay of Plenty ⋅ Runner-up: Hamish Kilpatrick, Canterbury ⋅ Third: Lance Graves, Hawkes Bay/Wairarapa

2016 New Zealand Dairy Trainee of the Year
Winner: Nicholas Bailey, Hawkes Bay/Wairarapa ⋅ Runner-up: Karl Wood, Manawatu ⋅ Third: Olivia Wade, Central Plateau

Check out our photo gallery from the night: