Wednesday, 13 July 2022

Nitrogen reporting now available in HawkEye


Ravensdown’s nutrient management and mapping tool HawkEye is ready for dairy farmers to create their annual nitrogen report for regional councils. This ensures you are creating a report with the right information in the right format to meet the requirements.

Learn more about how you can use HawkEye for your nitrogen reporting needs here. There are FAQ’s, help videos and information taking you through how to create your report from start to finish. Once you have finished creating your report, you can download and save a PDF or MS Excel file for your records as well as being able to send the data electronically to your regional council(s).

If you don’t want to use HawkEye, or you are using another program to record the fertiliser activities on your farm, there are a number of pieces of information required to report:

  • For each contiguous landholding
    • Farm Name
    • New Zealand Business Number (NZBN) - see the NZBN website for more information
    • Dairy Company
    • Dairy Supply Number
    • Total area of farm
    • Contact details of farm operator
  • Land Category N applications and total areas
    • Grazed land (overall)
    • Forage crops
    • Other grazed areas (non-forage including pasture and grazed harvest crops)
    • Ungrazed land (Crops, Silage, Vegetables, laneway, buildings etc)
  • Products applied (N is greater than 5%)
    • N%
    • Dates of application
  • Proof of purchase

A national web based form for manually entering all of the data will be available at a later date. This is being created by the regional councils collectively. Your regional council will advise you when this is available to use.

If you cross regional council boundaries, data must be supplied to all councils your farm crosses.

If you need help using HawkEye to create your nitrogen report, please contact your Ravensdown agri manager or call our support team on 0800 73 73 73.

If you wish to send your data manually please contact your local regional council as below.

Auckland Council

Bay of Plenty Regional Council

Environment Canterbury

Environment Southland

Gisborne District Council

Greater Wellington Regional Council

Hawke's Bay Regional Council

Horizons Regional Council

Marlborough District Council

Nelson City Council

Northland Regional Council

Otago Regional Council

Taranaki Regional Council

Tasman District Council

Waikato Regional Council

West Coast Regional Council